2021 Award Winners

The following awards recognize commitment to excellence in athletic training education. Each honors outstanding leaders who have made significant, on-going contributions of exceptional value to athletic training education and accreditation over a sustained period of service.

President’s Award

The CAATE President’s Award is presented at the discretion of the CAATE President to recognize and honor an individual who has demonstrated exemplary service and leadership to the CAATE organization and the athletic training profession nationally and internationally. Through this award, the Board wishes to recognize impact and service to the CAATE. Congratulations to the Peer Review Committee who are the 2021 recipients:

Amanda Benson, PhD, ATC

Shawn Felton, EdD, ATC

Scott Heinerichs, EdD, ATC

Kelley Henderson, EdD, ATC

Jolene Henning, EdD, ATC

Ryan Krzyzanowicz, DAT, ATC

Mark Laursen, MS, ATC

Dani Moffit, PhD, ATC

Chris Schmidt, PhD, ATC

Todd Neuharth, MA, ATC, CPH

Bob & Lynn Caruthers Service Award

This award is given to an individual that demonstrates the character and performance traits Bob and Lynn Caruthers displayed in their respective careers. Both Bob and Lynn demonstrated significant and distinguished service to professional and specialized accreditation, and excellence when working directly with constituent institutions. Winners demonstrate a clear and consistent record of excellence in service to athletic training accreditation and the CAATE, with an emphasis placed on the delivery of quality accreditation services to accredited programs and the institutions that house them. Congratulations to the 2021 recipient:

Luzita Vela, PhD, LAT, ATC