Call For Nominations; the Bob & Lynn Caruthers Service Award and the Pete Koehneke Award

The Bob & Lynn Caruthers Service Award

Caruthers Award

The Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) invites and encourages peer and self-nomination(s) of individuals for the Bob and Lynn Caruthers Service Award. This award will be given to an individual that demonstrates the character and performance traits Bob and Lynn Caruthers displayed in their respective careers. Both Bob and Lynn demonstrated significant and distinguished service to professional and specialized accreditation, and excellence when working directly with constituent institutions.

This award is intended to be a reflection of the commitment to professional education and service shown by the Caruthers. Nominees should demonstrate a clear and consistent record of excellence in service to athletic training accreditation and the CAATE. Emphasis must be placed on the delivery of quality accreditation services to accredited programs and the institutions that house them.

Nominations must include a letter outlining the professional work of the nominee, a current vita and three letters of support demonstrating significant and distinguished service to the CAATE. Both the level of involvement with the CAATE and the quality of that involvement will be evaluated. Self-nominations are encouraged.

Past award recipients:

  • 2013 – Dr. Paula Turocy
  • 2014 – Dr. Pete Koehneke 
  • 2015 – Dr. Doug Gregory  
  • 2016 – Dr. Paula Maxwell & Dr. Barbara Long
  • 2017 – Ms. Sara Brown & Dr. Greg Gardner
  • 2018 – Dr. Ray Castle

All materials and questions should be emailed to Application deadline is August 26, 2019.  The award will be presented at the CAATE Accreditation Conference.

The Pete Koehneke Award

The Pete Koehneke Award was established in 2016 and honors an outstanding leader who has made significant, on-going contributions of exceptional value to athletic training education and accreditation over a sustained period of service. Recipients of this award through their dedication and work, have had a lasting influence on the course of the profession at the national/international level.

Any person associated with athletic training education or institutions and organizations that sponsor CAATE accredited programs is eligible to submit a nomination for the Pete Koehneke Award. A minimum of 20 years of service to AT education/accreditation is required to be considered for the award. Recipients will be selected by the Commission. This honor will be awarded when exemplary individuals are identified.

Past award recipients:

  • 2016 – Dr. Micki Cuppett
  • 2017 – Mr. Mark Laursen
  • 2018 – Dr. Chad Starkey

If interested in submitting a nomination, please complete the nomination form, and submit it along with any supporting materials to Application deadline is August 26, 2019.  The award will be presented at the CAATE Accreditation Conference.