In addition to the members of the Commission and office staff, there are committees, working groups, and site visitors who make recommendations to the Commission. The Commission has final authority and responsibility for all activities and actions of the CAATE. There is a publicly-accessible Policy and Procedure Manual available on the website that fully describes the function of the standing committees, working groups, and site visitors.

Standing Committees

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Leadership Development Committee

The purpose of this Committee is to recruit and develop the volunteers and leaders of the Commission with a deliberate emphasis on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DE&I) to intentionally promote and ensure a culturally proficient environment throughout the organization and our stakeholder programs.

  • Mark Laursen, MS, ATC (Chair)
  • Toni Torres-McGehee, PhD, ATC (Vice-Chair)
  • Lynette Carlson, DHSc, ATC
  • Revay Corbett, PhD, ATC
  • Tamaria Hibbler, MS, ATC
  • Corey Oshikoya, MEd, ATC
  • Karlita Warren, PhD, ATC
  • Jeri Zemke, PhD, ATC
  • Mimi Nakajima, EdD, ATC

Education Committee

The purpose of the Education Committee is to identify, recommend, and support educational activities of CAATE. (This may include, but is not limited to: Accreditation Conference sessions, educational opportunities for program directors, clinical education coordinators, and other program personnel at all levels of accreditation.)

  • Lindsey Eberman, PhD, LAT, ATC (Chair)
  • James Reidy, MS, ATC, CSCS
  • Gail Samdperil, EdD, ATC
  • Stacy Walker, PhD, ATC, FNATA
  • Nikki Harris, DAT, LAT, ATC, CSCS
  • Jamie Mansell, PhD, LAT, ATC
  • Jessica Edler Nye, PhD, ATC
  • Zachary Winkelmann

International Committee

The International Committee shall consider and make recommendations to the CAATE Board on accreditation issues affecting international athletic training education programs. The committee shall also review implementation of policy and practices that affect international programs and make recommendations as appropriate.

  • Christopher Ingersoll, PhD, ATC, FNATA (Chair/Commissioner liaison)
  • Alvaro Garcia-Romero Perez, MS (Vice-Chair)
  • Mark Gibson, MSEd, MS, AT, PT
  • Enda Whyte, PhD, CAT
  • Patrick SH Yung, MBCHb, FRCS, FHKAM, FHCOS
  • Richard DeMont, PhD, CAT(C), ATC

Peer Review Committee

The purpose of the Peer Review Committee is to recruit, develop, and support the peer-review volunteer corps of the Commission to perform comprehensive programmatic reviews, including self-study reviews and on-site visitations, for all program levels (professional, post-professional, and residency/fellowship) for both quality assurance and quality improvement purposes.

  • Ryan Krzyzanowicz, DAT, ATC (Chair)
  • Jolene Henning, EdD, ATC
  • Kelley Henderson, EdD, ATC
  • Amanda Benson, PhD, ATC
  • Dani Moffit, PhD, ATC
  • Shawn Felton, EdD, ATC
  • Scott Heinerichs, EdD, ATC
  • Chris Schmidt, PhD, ATC

Residency-Fellowship Committee

The Residency-Fellowship Committee is responsible for the identification, recommendation, and support of residency and fellowship activities by CAATE.  This includes the evaluation, development, and progression of Standards to ensure quality athletic training education.

  • Hollie Walusz, MA, ATC, PES (Chair)
  • James Reidy, MS, ATC, CSCS (Vice-Chair)
  • Bonnie Van Lunen, PhD, ATC, FNATA (Commissioner Liaison)
  • Becky Bedard, MEd, ATC
  • J’nai Pittman, MSEd, LAT, ATC, OTC
  • Amy Valasek, MD

Review Committee

The Review Committee works with the Site Visit Team to prepare the Site Visit Report. This Committee also reviews the rejoinders and progress reports from the comprehensive review process, and makes recommendations to the Commission regarding accreditation actions as per the operation procedures of the CAATE.

  • Chris Schmidt, PhD, ATC (Chair)
  • Tona Hetzler, EdD, ATC
  • Jim Moore, EdD, ATC
  • Ryan Krzyzanowicz, DAT, ATC
  • Barbara Blackstone, MS, ATC
  • Paula Maxwell, PhD, ATC
  • Linda Bobo, PHD, ATC
  • Kelley Henderson, EdD, ATC
  • Robert Sipes, EdD, ATC
  • Scott Lawrance, DHSc, LAT, ATC, MSPT, CSCS
  • Mary Meier, PhD, ATC
  • Christopher Viesselman, EdD, LAT, ATC
  • Jolene Henning, EdD, ATC
  • Scott Heinerichs, EdD, ATC
  • Jessica Barrett, PhD, ATC
  • Barton Anderson, DHSc, ATC
  • James Reidy, MS, ATC, CSCS
  • Kevin Herod, MS, ATC

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee reviews the Standards for all program types and recommends changes to the Commission.   In collaboration with the Review Committee , this Committee reviews problematic Standards and takes public comment regarding the Standards.

Link to the 2020 Professional Standards Updates

  • Barton Anderson, DHSc, ATC (Chair)
  • Laura Kunkel, EdD, LAT, ATC, PES
  • Alejandra Merrimann, DAT, ATC
  • Jim Reidy, MS, ATC, CSCS
  • Quinton Sawyer, DAT, ATC
  • Kristen Schellhase, EdD, LAT, ATC
  • Kaori Tamura, PhD, ATC
  • Amanda Tritsch, PhD, LAT, ATC, CSCS

Ad-Hoc Committee

Nominating Committee (convened when necessary to fill positions).

The nominating Committee identify qualified candidates for commission openings, reviews the credentials and professional qualifications of candidates and creates a slate for election.   Consists of:

  • A former Commissioner
  • A program director
  • Two current commissioners